Are you aware that car crashes are the leading cause of death among the American teens? It’s true; according the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, driving accidents account for teens 16 to 19 years old are 3 times higher than for those over 20 years old and above.
In an effort to lower this toll, Arkansas has initiated a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program where all teens under 18 years old must achieve certain age- and experience-related milestones prior to receiving their driver’s license.
Your first step on your path to your Arkansas driver’s license is to get your learner’s permit.
If need be, you can contact the Office of Motor Vehicle.
What are Arkansas Learner’s Permit Requirements & Exemptions
In Arkansas, there are varied stages in the learner’s permit and licensing process, all of which are dependent on your age:
- 14 years old: Eligible for learner’s permit.
- 16 years old: Eligible forprovisional license.
- 18 years old: Eligible for unrestricted driver’s license.
These restrictions do not apply if you are at least 16 years old and you:
- Are married and thought of as “head of household.”
- Have earned a high school diploma or a GED.
- You are an active duty member of the U.S. military.
At the time of this writing, a Driver’s Education course is not needed as part of the Arkansas GDL. However, a Driver’s Ed course is an invaluable way to assist you become a smarter, safer, and more confident driver.
Are you New to Arkansas?
Unfortunately, if you are new to Arkansas and you have a learner’s permit from your previous state, your out-of-state learner’s permit will not transfer. In order to receive your Arkansas learner’s permit, you will have to complete the steps below.
Apply for Arkansas Learner’s Permit
To get your driver’s permit in the state of Arkansas, you have to be at least 14 years old. Testing is performed by the Arkansas State Police (ASP); you will be required to visit an ASP testing site and provide the needed documents mentioned below.
- A completed Application for Driver’s License/Learner’s Permit. Applications will be made available at the ASP testing site.
- Proof of verifiable Social Security number (e.g. original Social Security card, W-2 form, paystub showing your name and SSN).
- If you do not have a SSN, you must sign an affidavit stating so.
- Proof of legal presence (e.g. U.S.passport, U.S.birth certificate, U.S. visa and I-94 form).
- Proof of identity with your full nameand date of birth The state provides a A complete list of acceptable proofs; you may use:
- 2 primary documents.
- 1 primary document and 1 secondary document.
- 2 primary documents.
If you are under 18 years old you’ll equally need to provide proof of enrollment in school with at least a 2.0 GPA. You can get your proof of enrollment and GPA from your school, your school district office or the state Education Department.
In addition to passing the written permit test (see “Taking the Arkansas Permit Test” below), you will also need to pass a vision exam and pay the necessary fee. Contact the ASP testing site for information on specific fees.
How to take the Arkansas Permit Test
The moment you have all the required documents in hand, it’s time to go to an Arkansas State Police testing site to take your written test. It is always a good idea to make an appointment.
The written permit test will be made up of of written questions about Arkansas road signs, traffic laws, and rules of safe driving that can be gotten from the Arkansas Drivers License Study Guide.
Pass The Written Test On Your First Try
If you intend to avoid the embarrassment of failing the written exam, we suggest you studying with a comprehensive online practice test
What are Arkansas Learner’s Permit Driving Restrictions
With your learner’s permit in hand, you can now drive, but there are a few restrictions:
- You must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older.
- All passengers must always wear seat belts.
- You are not permited to use a cellular telephone or wireless communication device while driving except to report an emergency.
Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements
At the moment Arkansas does not have any behind the wheel supervised driving requirement. Most states need between 30 and 40 hours, with at least 10 hours at night. Though not currently needed, it’s highly recommended that you complete these hours either with your supervising driver or with at a commercial driving school.
Replacing Your Arkansas Learner’s Permit
If your learner’s permit is lost or stolen, you can acquire a new one by bringing the documents mentioned above to any State Revenue Office . You will also have to pay a $10 replacement fee.
Your Next Step: Acquire Your Provisional License
Your very next step in the Arkansas GDL process is to get your provisional driver’s license. You must hold the Arkansas learner’s permit for a minimum of 6 months without any traffic bridge or accidents before you’re qualified to apply for an intermediate license.